Name that Plant…

Since this is the first spring in our new house I have absolutely no idea what is going to pop up in our yard.  I am also a complete idiot when it comes to plants so even when things do pop up I have no idea what they are.  I am constanty trying to figure out exactly which ones are weeds.  So far I have been very pleasantly suprised by our little plants.  It seems like every week a different flower is blooming (and the only one I have been able to name so far is a Daffodil). I decided it might be helpful to let everyone in on our gardening action.  A little game I like to call 'Name that Plant.'  Please post a comment if you know what these are and/or how to take care of them.  Also please forward this along if you know someone that's a real plant wiz.  I may be periodically updating the list because, like I said before, new flowers seem to be coming from no where at least once a week.

 First and foremost, Plant #1.    Plant #1Plant #1

 This just popped up,

the flowers close in the

evening.

It has very pretty

yellow flowers!

Next is plant #2Plant #2

It is very tall.

It also smells kind of 'minty.'

(I haven't figured out the pictures

yet, so that is why I am

trying to fill up this space)

  Plant #3 there is a lot of this. Plant #3 

 Plant #4, this one is really cute. Plant #5 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LaDawna
    Apr 11, 2006 @ 15:59:39

    Hi Sarah!

    Just wanted to tell you that Plant #4 is a Grape Hyacinth.

    Love ya,
    Punkin

    Reply

  2. Jenny Mulvihill
    Apr 13, 2006 @ 23:35:59

    Hi Sarah,
    It’s Spring Break (yeah!) and I’m finally getting a chance to play on the computer! I love your blog! And I’m very impressed! See you Sunday at church!

    Jenny

    P.S. Sorry, I’m no help with the plants!

    Reply

  3. Tom Smith
    Apr 18, 2006 @ 10:19:05

    You are such a nerd, Sarah. Just like me! I’m so proud.

    Reply

  4. Tom Smith
    Apr 18, 2006 @ 10:27:43

    Here is a good plant-identification site: http://www.noble.org/imagegallery/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

