Local Entertainment

Daddy-O and I have found a new form of television viewing pleasure.  Local city council meetings.  We first started watching the meeting of our own town on occasion just to see the town grump who shows up and accuses the council members of breaking various laws.

However, last night we watched the meeting of a nearby town in which everyone hates the new mayor.  Things were getting pretty heated when a councilman begins questioning the mayor about her daily meetings with some man named Mark.  Mayor gets very defensive.  Councilman takes advantage of this and yells question after question about these clandestine meetings only to be quieted by Councilman #2.

Councilman #2 (to councilman #1):  I have a question for you.  Doesn't your daughter work at Walgreen's?

Councilman #1:  (he hesitates) yes…

Councilman #2:  Oh yeah, that's right.  She DID work there until she got fired for stealing from them.

Chaos ensues.  Seriously, people, it was beautiful.

I know what you're thinking, and you are right.  We are officially the biggest losers in the world. šŸ™‚

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 11:32:48

    Love it! My Grandpa was the Town Councilman in our eensy weensy town in the Adirondacks for years and years and years. Somehow he always came home from those meetings knowing exactly who I was dating and that he was way older than me and what kind of truck he drove. I became convinced that “Town Council” meetings was a euphamism for “Tupper Lake Mafia.” Where we live now, the closest I get to watching something like that on public access is the weekly column in our local paper about the past week’s Sheriff’s Calls. Drunk people do pretty funny things, and it entertains me to read about them!

    Reply

  2. Kt
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 13:33:13

    That’s hilarious! My colleage keeps asking why I’m laughing.

    Reply

  3. Kt
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 13:34:37

    That’s hilarious! My colleage keeps asking why I’m laughing. Who are these people?! Maybe we’ll look into our town’s next council meeting…

    Reply

  4. Kt
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 13:35:56

    sorry for the double post, I’ve eaten entirely too many girl scout cookies at this point…

    Reply

  5. Kt
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 13:37:02

    PS. I mis-spelled ‘colleagUe’

    Please feel free to delete my comments anytime.

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Jun 16, 2006 @ 13:41:54

    OMG…my husband watches the SAME THING! ha! Now I don’t feel so weirded out about it šŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Serendipity
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 02:05:02

    If this is true, very funny in an embarrassing way! Almost a classic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

