My dad

 

Here are 10 reasons why I love my dad:

1. For teaching me how to play chess (and never letting me win).

2. For taking me fishing–I remember waking up before dawn and getting to see the sun rise from the boat.  And for making me feel so cool when I caught a 'big' fish, you even showed it off to the guys at Dairy Queen on our way home.

3. For when I got my own phone line and would call our house (from my bedroom) after everyone was in bed and ask you to bring me a drink of water.  You always did!

4. For having 'the talk' with my first date.

5. For my 'surprise' 18th birthday party.

6. For all the late night computer games.

7. For not ratting us out the day we went to Ada for lunch even though we were on official 'school business' for you, and for telling us it was because you skipped every Wednesday of your senior year.

8. For always being the 'nice' one and showing me what that means.  Especially when you go and talk to people, when the rest of us don't because we don't know what to say.  You don't know what to say either, you just know it's important to go anyways.

9. For the moment right before you walked me down the aisle.  When you said, "It's not too late, we can still leave.  There are plenty of cars out there, we could make a break for it right now."

10. For the moment in the hospital, after I had Supergirl and all the grandma's had left and it was just us.  You just sat there and held her and stared at her for the longest time.  I could feel how much you love both of us.

Oh, and I just have to add… Because you are such a dork!!!  And you even passed some of that dorkiness on to me.  Thanks!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tom Smith
    Jun 19, 2006 @ 11:13:59

    Dang, Sarah. You made me cry. These were definitely the nicest things ever said about me. You are a wonderful daughter and I miss you so much. I have to go find a Kleenex now.

    Hey, wait. You didn’t put timing you while you ran laps around the house on the list?

    Reply

  2. findingbabyg
    Jun 19, 2006 @ 11:55:38

    or the letter to Santa 🙂

    Reply

  3. Serendipity
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 02:02:58

    You are very lucky to have your Dad. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

