Exam Time

I’ve started studying for my licensing exam (to be a clinical social worker).  Studying has caused me to do a lot of thinking (I guess that’s kind of the point, isn’t it).  Thinking about things other than, but related to what I’m actually studying. 

First of all, I’m a total dork!!  I’ve always been aware of this, though I tried to hide it alot in high school and college.  I first realized my extraordinarily high dorkiness level when I was in 6th grade and began (secretly in my room) outlining an encyclopedia.  I was trying to learn everything I possibly could about gorillas so I could grow up to be the next Dianne Fossey.  I was always torn between her and Jane Goodall.  This dorkiness grew into a junior high nerd:  picture tall, skinny, permed hair, glasses, braces, too short jeans, “Save the Rainforest” shirt wearing awesomeness.  Then I moved.  And lost the braces and got contacts.  I realized I had the opportunity to be ‘cool’ at least a little bit.  Although I still loved the books I also developed an interest in the world of dating.  For this reason coolness won out through both high school and college.

Then I met Daddy-O.  He saw through the coolness facade straight to my encyclopedia-outlining heart.  He made lots of fun of me (and still does), but he also taught me to just be the wonderful dork that I am.  I still love school, if I could go to school forever I definitely would.  I love getting the syllabus on the first day of class.  I love checking off assignments as the semester goes on.  I love when the professors ask me if they can use my papers as a sample in future classes (yes, a little shameless self-promotion).

So, I am now very excited to be studying.  I am a little nervous about the test, as I really didn’t learn much of the stuff covered while in college, plus that was a few years ago anyways.  Even if I did learn it I am absolutely sure I would have forgotten it by now.  So, there is mostly new material.  Which in a way is great.  I, SuperDork, am learning new things.  Some of these new things are leading my thoughts in other various directions (which I will discuss in more detail later) which are not always positive or reassuring.  But new, nonetheless.

So…the point of this post.  I have absolutely no idea.  I guess to come out of the nerd closet.  That’s right people, this is me. (at this point everyone who knows me in ‘real-life’ is laughing at the thought that anyone could have ever mistaken me for cool)     🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MomSquared
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 00:10:52

    Oh. my. gosh.
    A woman after my own heart.
    Lunch time when I was in junior high found me copying dictionaries and books about animals.
    Let’s be friends.

    Reply

  2. Dawn Finley
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 08:38:28

    Dorks of the world UNITE. I too would go to school forever if I was able to. I love school. I love studying and I really love research. I know there might be something wrong with me. Of course I came to love education and knowldege on my own terms a little late in live. I started college at 24. I am glad you have come out of the “dork” closet. Welcome there are more of us than you might think. But, outlining the Encyclopedia? Interesting. I hate outlines….

    Reply

  3. Crissy
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 12:48:02

    being the younger girl in school trying to be “cool”…i always thought you were! i never saw the dork…well maybe a couple of times but never the one outlining the encyclopedia!!

    Reply

  4. findingbabyg
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 13:25:47

    MomSquared- We could have started a club! Some Environmental club, had we joined forces just imagine how much useless coyping we could have accomplished!!!

    Dawn- I’m embarrassed to say I still enjoying outlining, and copying…In fact, that is how I am studying right now.

    Crissy- A couple of times!!! When???? Perhaps, when I gave you all nicknames (of the only ‘Native American’ women I really knew about)? Or perhaps the time I sponsored a camping trip (in my own yard)?

    Reply

  5. Crissy
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 17:06:50

    well yes the nicknames…but i loved that and the day you gave me the corner of your chocolate m&m’s wrapper and told me to keep it forever…guess what…i’m the dork that still has it!!

    Reply

  6. Danielle
    Jul 17, 2006 @ 11:31:11

    I can’t stop reading (law school tried REALLY REALLY hard to beat this out of me, but after a 1 year hiatus from books, I’M BACK!!!!!) and when I finish a good book and tell Bryan he needs to read it because it’s SO GREAT and he nods and keeps watching Sports Center, I whip out the book, RE-READ it, and OUTLINE it. Then I present him with the outline to read. Like Cliff Notes for husbands. If he doesn’t read it fast enough, I schedule a Friday night dinner and wine meeting where we go over the outline. Does that make me crazy? Cuz the books aren’t usually life shattering, adoption related stuff or anything like that…pretty much dog training books and the like.

    Reply

  7. findingbabyg
    Jul 17, 2006 @ 14:37:53

    Danielle-
    That’s hilarious! Was Bryan aware he was marrying his own private tutor? Daddy-O is downstairs right now playing the brain-age game on his nintendo DS (I got it for him for his b-day). He figures it’s one more way to put some competition into this house.
    Oh, and please read as many books as possible for your little kiddo gets here. They have a tendency to significantly reduce your book-reading time!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

