Holy Hell She’s Two!!!

 evil

Today I came home from work to find a raging toddler had snuck into my house and replaced my sweet little girl.  Everything you’ve ever heard about the terrible twos is true!  It’s terrible, and we’re not even there yet!  So many “mines!” and “my turn” and “my cookie” and “my picture.”  Then the hitting (I blame this entirely on the little boy at the zoo we witnessed hitting his mother–I saw the lightbulb go off in my sweet little girl’s head as she said “I hit you”).  Anyways, she hits, in the face, while simultaneously saying “time out.”  You can see in her expression: “smacking you across the face is totally worth a trip to time out–it is merely a small price to pay, and I am willing to pay it.”  You say, “if you hit you go to time out” she says “yeah” and then whacks you.  This, my friends, has brought Daddy-O and I closer together.  We must unite in the face of evil.  We must defeat the sinister, innocent looking whacker of adults. 

Did I mention she was up before 7 today (way early for her), has not napped, and is getting two teeth.  Yes, it has been a great day…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MomSquared
    Aug 07, 2006 @ 21:07:26

    Oh no! Where did your sweet baby go??

    Well, she’s still cute!

    Reply

  2. fizzle
    Aug 07, 2006 @ 22:14:29

    …the look on her face says it all.

    Reply

  3. Crissy
    Aug 08, 2006 @ 07:49:36

    so this is never going to end is it?! after reading this…any hope i had is gone!! please tell me there is a period between 6 months and 2 years that there will be peace!!

    Reply

  4. Dawn Finley
    Aug 08, 2006 @ 07:58:14

    At least she still has her looks. I am so happy that this is what I have to look forward to (only slight sarcasm should be inferred). I could totally relate while reading. There are a few people I might hit if I only had to go to time out.

    You’ll get through it, or you’ll get your next baby first and then she will be distracted.

    Reply

  5. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 21:26:18

    My sweet lovely two year old has learned the phrase “Get him far away from me” which she directs at her twin brother.

    They have also decided it is a good idea to push each other when they get mad. I wish I could blame a kid at the zoo, but my kids came up with this all on their own.

    *sigh*

    Reply

  6. Anne
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 22:13:17

    Sorry to laugh at your distress, but she is one cute little dickens! What a look!

    Reply

  7. findingbabyg
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 10:13:16

    Crissy- I promise there are a few months of bliss smashed in between all the craziness!

    Sarah-The phrase in our house is just “go away” pretty much always directed at myself or hubby. I sort of like the far away from me. I might start using that one.

    Reply

  8. Brooke Jean
    Aug 11, 2006 @ 13:46:38

    To give you hope for the future … I didn’t have my terrible twos … but I was an awful teenager to deal with. My sisters on the other hand were horrible two year olds and they were only half as bad as me and teenagers. Let her get it out now! Dealing with a two year old is soooo much easier then a bitter angsty teen.

    Reply

  9. Kt
    Aug 11, 2006 @ 14:23:40

    I agree with Brooke! From what I’ve heard, I was an angel at age 2. They could leave me unattended in a room with instructions to remain seated in my chair and I would not move until they returned, like a well-trained dog. Something about great discipline and extremely responsible as a young child. Then I hit my teenage years… the thought of myself as a teenager makes me never want children! So yes, let Supergirl get it out of her system now! You certainly don’t want her wacking you guys as a teenager.

    Reply

  10. findingbabyg
    Aug 12, 2006 @ 23:43:22

    Brooke and Kt-
    I SO hope you guys are right. After working with some teenage girls this past week I was definitely feeling a HUGE funk about raising a girl! Too much estrogen! Please, please, please let her get it all out now 🙂

    Reply

  11. james r.
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 15:15:05

    ah yes, i remember the Terrible Twos very well, even though (in the case of my youngest) it was nine years ago. there were moments of hell, sure. but there were more than enough moments of perfection to make up for it. 🙂

    it’ll be a fun ride. just take it as it comes.

    peace,
    j.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

