The Great Slow Down…

Since Daddy-O and I have been together everything always seems to go really fast.  For example,

We dated 5 days before getting engaged.

We were engaged 6 months before we were married.

I decided what I wanted to study in Grad School, what school I wanted to attend, applied, was accepted, and started classes, all within the span of a month.

It took a total of 2 weeks to get pregnant with Supergirl.

She was a week early.

I was in labor for less than three hours before she was born.

SO…..waiting for a referral is sort of new for us.  I am not really used to this basic sense of helpless waiting.  It is so different than when I was pregnant.  Then she was always with me, wherever I went.  She went to work with me everyday, slept with me at night.  We were always together.  I guess in a sense I was able to protect her.  I knew where she was and that she was ok.  It is VERY different this time.  I don’t know anything about this future child that will be a part of our family.  Has he/she been born yet?  Is he/she still growing, waiting to be born, spending this precious time with his/her birthmother?  What is the fate that awaits this family.  It hurts to think about that.  What turn of events is going to result in this child becoming a part of our family.  I cannot protect this baby right now.  I don’t know where he/she is, if he/she is safe.  I do know things are not ok.  Otherwise this baby would never need a new home.

So I guess what I am left with is this.  Somewhere, on the other side of the world, is a family whose future is someday going to somehow intertwine with mine.  And what that family is experiencing right now is something I could never imagine.  And they would probably give anything in the world to have nothing to complain about but a wait…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bek
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 01:18:28

    Great post. It is true. I rmember thinking the same thing….is my child’s family about to be torn apart by death? Do they know the time is ticking. It can make you crazy if you think about it too long.

    I LOVE the new look. It is great.

    Reply

  2. Niki
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 21:20:37

    Patience is such a difficult thing to endure when we are so extremely anxious. It will be worth the wait. You life will totally change having 2 little ones. Love your new page by the way.

    Reply

  3. fizzle
    Sep 27, 2006 @ 09:11:48

    the new look is GREAT!

    wow woman, you speed through things in life. You must be decisive…

    Reply

  4. Shoshana
    Sep 27, 2006 @ 14:49:54

    Waiting is hard. Tapping your feet is tiring. I understand the angst of waiting. I can only imagine.

    I like your new looks…so cool!

    Reply

  5. Crissy
    Sep 27, 2006 @ 15:42:23

    Patience really does put you to the test…oh but the reward at the end!

    Like the new look!

    Reply

  6. Dawn Finley
    Sep 28, 2006 @ 09:12:49

    Love the new look of the blog…I know how you feel about waiting. I still remember the sting of days, weeks, and months going by. We should get together one of these days. Email me an we can plan something. I love getting out of the house as does Noah.

    The wait will end soon and it will all be worth it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

