The Call

Ok…some more details 🙂

I had this ‘ideal’ of what it would be like when we finally got ‘the call.’  We would both just be hanging out at home, able to be on two phones at one.  It would be so exciting, I might cry, etc, etc.  Surprise—not exactly 🙂

So a few weeks ago my sister-in-law fell and broke her leg (please be cautious on wet bathroom floors while bathing little babies!!)  Her and my brother have 3 young children and my brother was recently hired on a fire dept, works shifts, and can’t exactly take much time off (he’s also in emt class twice per week).  Needless to say, with my SIL on crutches she needs a little help.  Thus, fortunately, I was able to get a week off and fly down with Supergirl to help with the kiddos.  Of course, as soon as I get there the baby had severe diarrhea (rotovirus I think) and was in need of diaper changes about every 10 minutes.  Wednesday was the climax of my trip.  Baby was still sick, older brother got sick and had to come home from school temporarily.  On the way to take him BACK to school I backed their minivan into a neighbors truck, ugh.  Fortunately it didn’t hurt their truck, just scratched their van (sorry Steph).  Finally the kids get home from school and we’re having popsicles on the front porch.  Supergirl was in the process of dripping hers all over me when the phone rings.  It’s Daddy-O.  He had received the call.  He was so excited he couldn’t even remember the baby’s name!!  He didn’t write it down!  The agency emailed us the info, and I, of course, had to call and find out how to pronounce his name.  While I was on the phone and the internet and everything Supergirl began vomiting.  Great….  She vomited milk in several separate areas of the house.  Needless to say, it wasn’t exactly as I had imagined, but what ever is?  I will definitely never ever forget!  I will never forget how all the chaos around me disappeared as I talked to Daddy-O.  I will never forget how excited he sounded on the phone.  I will never forget the first time I saw our son’s picture.

I think what surprised me the most were my emotions the next few days.  It was not the utterly joyful excitement I had anticipated.  It was utter heartbreak.  I was heartbroken for this little boy whose picture I couldn’t stop looking at.  How such a tiny boy could have already experienced so much loss.  That’s what I saw in his eyes.  As if he were asking ‘why?  why me?’  And I don’t have an answer.  I never will.  While I am excited and happy and do love him so much already, I feel as if I am grieving with him.  He has experienced more in his incredibly short life than I have in all of mine.  I am hoping he gets at least a thousand hugs and kisses everyday.  That somewhere in his little heart he can feel this love I am sending across the world to him.  I love you baby G.  Momma’s comin’

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blondie
    Mar 26, 2007 @ 17:29:12

    Well, it may not be the perfect ‘call’ but it sure sounds memorable…

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Meredith
    Mar 26, 2007 @ 20:50:49

    I don’t know you from Adam, but I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of months. Last week was the worst week I’ve had in awhile…deaths, illness, frustration and 2 more pounds up on the scale. When I opened your blog Sunday evening and saw this adorable face I started to cry. He wiped away all my worries from the last week and let me feel like I could breathe again. I do not see the pleading that you describe; in his face I see pure hope.

    I’m so happy for your family and so proud that I “know” someone who has taken on this adventure in life. May God bless you all with his most gracious love and blessings.

    Reply

  3. Stacie
    Mar 27, 2007 @ 12:55:27

    I’m crying at work again! He will certainly have plenty of love when he gets home to you (and before!) – you are all so lucky to have ‘found’ each other. Congrats again!
    Stacie

    Reply

  4. dawn
    Mar 27, 2007 @ 14:34:55

    So few things happen the way we expect them to. He will get hundreds if not thousand of kissess…those nannies in Ethiopia love those babies. He also feels you love through his caregivers. He knows you are coming.

    Reply

  5. Jacob
    Mar 28, 2007 @ 12:10:59

    Haha…sounds like you have had your hands full here recently…SG cracks me up…I’m glad you finally got your Baby G-2, he’s a cute lil guy!! I love you guys and hopefully everything gets back to some kind of controlled situation huh?? Good luck with everything Princess!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

