A beautiful day!

Okay people, I have to be honest.  It has been a rough week around here.  Between Baby G’s constant ear-piercing shrieks and SuperGirl’s 800 melt-downs a day, we were beginning to feel as if we were losing all control of this house.  Plus both children having very inconsistent waking patterns everynight means little to no sleep for grown-ups.  This makes for a pretty grumpy house.  At 7 this morning Daddy-O had already left for work, SuperGirl had found her way to my bed and Baby G was belting out his infamous shrieks from his room.  As I tried to crawl my way out of bed to go get him SuperGirl flipped out and started crying and yelling about how she didn’t want me to leave, “I just want my brother to cry!!”  As she tugged at my arm as I walked away I was trying to figure out how on Earth I was going to make it through this day.

However….sometime between that moment and breakfast something wonderful happened to my children.  I have no idea what it was, but I love it and want to marry it 🙂  Supergirl spent the day playing quietly by herself, with me and even with her brother.  She set up a tea party for all of her animals, read her books for a very long time, and drew pictures on her leapster.  Even at naptime I set the timer and the second she heard it beep she laid down and fell asleep.  Baby G spent the day learning how to crawl.  He is now up on his knees and elbows and spends more time going frontwards than rolling sideways.  You can tell he is VERY excited about this newfound freedom.  I think I only heard a handful of shrieks the entire day.  He spent most of the day sticking out his tongue.  He became a little obsessed with that over the course of the day.  I was so excited about our day I decided we needed to treat ourselves with a little DQ!
august 114
Oh, I also signed Supergirl up for a dance class (ballet/tap) today.  She starts September 4.  “Shamelessly living vicariously through your children“—here I come!

 I hope your day was as great as ours!

 Here’s my little man thinking he is hot stuff with a spoon…
summer07 007
And his tongue, which stayed like this for the rest of the day 🙂
summer07 009
Okay, so this was actually 2 days ago, but it demonstrates one of the many tea parties that are going on continuously around here and it is Baby G on the day SuperGirl informed me “mom, he looks really cool in that shirt”
summer07 002
Enjoying a few snacks courtesy of his sister
august 111
And more of the crazy tongue
august 116
august 118
This is normal, right?
summer07 001

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Malía's mama
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 08:02:09

    That last picture seriously cracked me up! I think she has a future in Cirque de Soleil! 🙂
    Hope all your days are good and your nights start to be too! Been there, believe me!

    Reply

  2. Charlotte Mabry
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 23:24:18

    How beautiful you all look! What can the little man use? I would like to send Savannah a little something for being such s good big sister and a little something for BABY G – HE IS ADORABLE and appaently progresing quite nicely. The big ketchup packet was alos lots of from. love to all.

    Reply

  3. ktka
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 06:58:57

    It’s never too soon to start practicing for flushing in public restrooms! Isn’t there a commercial Boomer can star in? “WHASSSSS-UP!” He’s even got the right look in his eyes.

    Glad to hear you guys had an excellent day!

    Reply

  4. misty
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 18:14:06

    I love the new look of boomer!!! I say he fits in the family quite well i was worried for awhile but i think he is going to make it!!!! And as for super girl well what can i say she is a spitting image of her father and mother!!!! LOL!

    Reply

  5. dawn
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 15:43:11

    I am totally laughing at the foot flushing. She doesn’t want to get her hands dirty mom. Haven’t we all been in those restrooms where you would have to be held at gun point before you would use your hands? I know this isn’t true of your house as I have used that restroom. she is just practicing for the next time she is at a roadside gas station in the middle of no where.

    Love the tounge. Minnow does that a lot too. I have a ton of pictures with his tounge hanging out.

    Reply

  6. Delphine (France)
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 08:04:20

    Excuse my very bad English, I have work to improve it…

    What wonderful children, they are gorgeous !

    I am a mom of two girls : the first one, “home-made”, is 3-years-old and looks like your “SuperGirl” ; and the second one is 2-years-old, she arrived from Ethiopia one year ago ; and she has a delirious tongue too !

    I laughed a lot by seeing the photos of your children !

    I wish you many beautiful days like this one !

    And, with some days of delay : for SuperGirl : “Joyeux Anniversaire” from France (it is why I am late… hum…)

    Delphine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

