Ethiopia, Day 1–Travel

Ethiopia 001
Okay, so I’m calling it Day 1, but it is sort of Day 1 1/2, and sort of Day 0.  Basically our trip from here to Ethiopia.  We left Sunday afternoon our time and arrived Monday night, Ethiopia time.  It was definitely hard to say goodbye at the airport.  I knew saying goodbye to Supergirl would be tough and it definitely was.  I was pretty sure she still hadn’t quite grasped the concept that I was really going to be gone for awhile.  I said goodbye, waved for a little while, and then cried my way to the front of the security line.  Fortunately, security is crazy enough that I was quickly distracted.  Including the moment a pilot asked to go in front of me through the metal detector.  I said that was ok, he went, only to be yelled at by a screener and forced to return to the back of the line. HA

Ethiopia 004

My dad and I were quite the traveling pair.  Both had no idea what we were doing and it was probably pretty obvious.  We did manage to make all of our flights without getting lost, no small miracle.  Bought some sunglasses at O’Hare, ate some Quizno’s, flew to Frankfurt in time to have some mozzarella sticks at McDonalds (for breakfast)  🙂 

Ethiopia 006

Ethiopia 073

Lufthansa was great.  Some food was good, some food not so good, but all in all it was fine.  I did not sleep much on the flights.  Too excited, I guess.  I had never used an airplane bathroom before, but taking some travel advice I read and drinking LOTS and LOTS of liquids, I got quite familiar with this routine.  I appreciated the multiple snacks and many many drinks.  Also definitely appreciated the hot towels!  The Frankfurt airport was very nice.  It was a great place for people watching, and I even took a little nap at our gate. 

Our arrival in Ethiopia was both exciting and all a blur due to the exhaustion of the trip.  Getting a visa was very easy.  There was a lady causing quite a scene as we waited to have our passport stamped.  I believe she was drunk, but am not sure.  The security guy seemed quite amused by much of what she was yelling out as she alternated between jumping up and down and laying on a bench.  As we waited for our luggage we eventually realized one of our bags was not there.  We were clearly not the only ones and it turns out quite of bit of luggage was offloaded in Frankfurt and was still there.  Fortunately it was our donations, so we still had all of our clothes and baby supplies.  Filling out our baggage claim was a nightmare, it took about an hour to get to the front of the line.  The Hilton shuttle had already left us, and thankfully a cab driver was nice enough to call the shuttle driver for us.  The drive to the Hilton was a nice introduction to Ethiopian driving.  It was a little scary, but looking back it was probably one of the easiest drives we experienced, as there was no other traffic on the roads.  After checking in at the Hilton, making a phone call home, we both crashed for the evening…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aster
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 13:44:18

    Interesting!

    Check out the Ethiopian Portal website for similar blogs in their “Web Directory” section:

    http://www.EthioPortal.com

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 15:30:45

    Hi! I loved your story and pictures, especially the picture of you with your dad 🙂 I wanted to give you the name of the tags I use for multi-destination trips – Global Bag Tag. I could tell you more but I don’t want to be spammy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

