Writing

I just realized I have been writing here for over 2 years!  I went back and read some of the old stuff today. Amazing how quickly it all comes back.  I enjoy writing.  While I am very aware of the public aspect of this space, I still feel it is a great outlet.  I need that, I always have. I started journaling a LONG LONG time ago.  I remember arguing with both a friend and my foster sister over separate incidents where they each read my journal and were upset over what I wrote.  Of course I was 12 then 🙂  Now I currently have 4 journals going:  this one, one for each kid, and one of my own.  Each is very different.  This one is me being aware of who can, is and may some day read this.  I started the journals for Supergirl and Boomer a year and a half ago.  Every few months (sometimes less sometimes more) I write a little update about things they are doing, how much I love them, and what our life is like right now.  I really enjoy writing in those, I can talk to the grown up versions of them, let them know my hopes and fears.  Then I have my own journal.  I still have all of mine, even back to when I was 12.  They have been through a lot of good and bad times. I am much better at writing then talking.  It helps get all of the junk and funk out of my head.  I have realized I tend to write when I am in a funk, so if a stranger were to read it I would probably look like a very unhappy person.  Which really isn’t true, it’s just where I get all of that stuff out.  I don’t know…  It just helps.  So what do you do?  Do you even have funk, and if so, how do you get it out?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ktka
    May 28, 2008 @ 19:54:09

    That’s a great idea! I should start journaling for Aiden. I feel like so much has happened and changed already over the past 6 months. Like everything else in my life, I run through it. The more I run the less likely I am to get in a funk 🙂

    Reply

  2. dawn
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:52:24

    wine…lots of wine 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

