Book Review

I recently posted a list of the books I have read recently. My SIL suggested I do a review, which I considered, but then decided I was too embarrased by my desire to do completely brainless reading lately πŸ™‚

SO…. I decided instead to do a children’s book review. I am completely obsessed with children’s book and we have a TON!! I was so excited when Supergirl started school last year so we would start getting the Scholastic book orders. I order too many each time we get the form. It can’t be helped.

The kids both get on a tangent and want to read the same ones every night (Thomas and Barbie right now, blah), so I am not reviewing THEIR favorites, just mine πŸ™‚ These are just a few of the favorites I have read in the last week or two:

Five Minutes’ Peace by Jill Murphy

This one is an absolute guilty pleasure. It is about a momma who just wants a little alone time. I read it on days the kids are driving me bananas–it makes me feel a little better πŸ™‚

Martin’s Big Words by Doreen Rappaport

I was looking for a book about Martin Luther King for the kids and thought I’d try this one when I saw it in the Scholastic order form. I have to say I LOVE it!! It was a great way to introduce him and the Civil Rights movement to Supergirl. She loves the book also and had a lot of questions. Great conversation starter, and just the right level for an older preschooler.

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr and John Archambault

This was Boomer’s absolute favorite for a very long time. We even have the video, which I love because it is a song, and just the pictures from the book. So now I sing it when I read it. He tries to sing with me and it’s hilarious.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. KtKa
    May 26, 2009 @ 20:53:34

    These look interesting as well, but I have to tell you, after your post about the novels you recently read, I spent hours reading about Jodi Picoult’s books πŸ™‚

    I recently finished “Made to Stick” (a marketing book), and started “Prisoner of State” the secret journal of the premier of China during the tiananmen square protests. He was put under house arrest for the last 16 years of his life for trying to defend the students during the protests, and he secretly taped all these journals about the inner workings of the Chinese government during the 70s and 80s. Needless to say, the Chinese govt is not pleased about the publication of this book. In fact, I don’t think it’s been published in China. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    BTW- I missed you guys this weekend. I’m glad Aiden got to play with SG and Boomie. Frank said you were not feeling well. I hope you are better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

