I have a job!!!

Since last January I have been a full-time SAHM and I have honestly loved every minute of it. There’s nothing like working at a job you don’t really like, having to do more hours than you are supposed to, and feeling constantly stressed to make you realize what a blessing it is to be able to stay home. While staying home I decided to venture into private practice. I learned a lot, but unfortunately realized it was going to take a very long time to build any sort of client base. And I also learned that if I am going to see kids I would end up putting in many hours AFTER school, which means I would not see my own kids very much. We also began to run low on money. For this reason I started looking for a part-time job again. I applied at many places, had 2 interviews, and was rejected by all. Then the week before we went to the beach I get a phone call from a school district telling me they have openings (for school social worker) and wanting to know if I could interview. I was surprised as I was unaware the district had openings and had not applied. I am guessing I applied last summer using their online application and that is why they had my info. So while at the beach I kept wondering why they didn’t have the position posted. I had myself convinced they already knew who they were going to hire and they were just using me to fill in interview spots. However, upon arrival at the interview they inform me they have not one, but THREE, positions open. I called my husband after leaving and told him I would probably cry if I did not get this job 🙂 They were going to notify people who were getting job offers the next day. So the next day I never moved more than an inch from the phone and was extremely disappointed each time someone else called. By 4:00 I was convinced I was a no… Then at 5:00 I get a phone call saying they were trying to check my references but could get no one, as the schools were not in session yet, so I gave them some other cell numbers to try. 10 minutes later I get a job offer. Hurrah!!!
Good news: I’m making more than I was at my last job, where I had very few days off and worked until 6:00 or later every night!
I’m off at 2:45 every day!
I get school holidays and the entire SUMMER off!
I will be at elementary schools and I LOVE elementary schools! 🙂
Bad news: None really…. I will miss Supergirl’s first day of school which I am sad about, but which she doesn’t really seem to mind too much…
So…Yay!!! I start tomorrow. Wish me luck 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dawn
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 21:31:07

    So very happy for you.
    Best of luck on the first day. Can’t wait to hear more about it. We’ll have to plan a weekend play date soon.

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 09:52:10

    I was one of the references! Congrats Sarah!

    Reply

  3. Auntie Em
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 10:58:08

    Congratulations. You will do great.

    Love ya

    Reply

  4. Jenni
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 08:25:16

    Congratulations! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

