New Behavior Plan

I am once again trying a new plan in our house. We have experienced a downturn in behaviors around here and I am not enjoying it! I had stopped doing sticker charts around the time school started (feeling too busy and overwhelmed) and so the kids really aren’t getting many positive reinforcements—just punishments. I decided we would try out a token economy. These work in BD classes, surely my kids would benefit 🙂 Summer break will be here soon and I would like to have this behavior thing worked out before we are all spending all day everyday together. Plus I like to do fun things in the summer and thought maybe they could work towards some of those things… I am also going to TRY to make our summer a little more structured, but I’ll save that for another post. So I started talking up this whole ‘token’ system to our kids about two weeks ago. We talked about what behaviors would earn them a token and what they would like to be able to earn. I think we have finally narrowed it down, although it will definitely be an evolving system. Our behavior chart:

They will also be randomly rewarded for kind behaviors.
and our reward chart:

Today we did a ‘practice’ run. Mostly me giving them a lot of reminders about what would and would not earn tokens throughout the day. Tonight they were totally laying on the sweetness to impress me. They were playing outside together and Boomer ran in to inform me he told Supergirl he loved her and that she was the best sister ever. He then asked for a token 🙂 I had to remind him he does not get them if he asks for them (I’ve been pretty clear about this one from the beginning). When Supergirl came in she whispered to me about how nice Boomer was being and what good manners they were using with each other. She was actually quite moved by his niceness (of course I said nothing about his asking for a token!). Tomorrow we are ‘officially’ starting—we’ll see how this goes 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mandie
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 14:00:54

    I so appreciate your sharing your story so honestly on this blog. Whether you know it or not, it’s been an inspiration to follow your journey. So, I’ve nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award. You can pick up your prize badge from my blog; then keep the nomination train rolling by honoring those blogs that have touched your heart. Blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

