I did it!!!

Yesterday was a 5k day. Daddy-O and I both did the 5k and both kids did the 1/2 mile fun run. The race was less than a mile from our house which was awesome! I ran the course a few weeks ago and it was very hilly. It took me a little over 34 minutes with several walking breaks. When I started yesterday I was very mindful of keeping my pace slow in the beginning. I always seem to think I’m a super-runner at the beginning of a race, only to be reminded that I’m not about a mile later when I am wheezing and dying and start to walk. After about a mile I decided this time I would do the whole thing without walking… I have NEVER run an entire 5k without walking. EVER!!! I took on the mantra of ‘slow and steady.’ There was a slow and steady lady in front of me and I did my best to stay with her. Along the way I passed a few people and was passed by others, but I just kept thinking slow and steady, slow and steady. In the end I did it! I made the entire route without one single walking break. Mind over matter. Of course, now I know I can do it, so hopefully the mind over matter part will be a little easier… My time was not great, 33 minutes. Funny how it can be only 1 minute faster when I took out about 5 walking breaks. But that’s ok. My goal had nothing to do with time. And I did it. Yay me 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 19:04:48

    Wahoo! Great work, Sarah!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

