Enlighten me (or don’t)

Actually don’t. This is all very rhetorical…

My list of “WHAT THE?!?!?”

I don’t understand why our education system is falling to pieces… How teachers are expected to differentiate instruction for students who are usually up to 6 grade levels apart on ability, yet still follow the ‘evidence-based’ curriculum with fidelity (aka follow the script) to the extent that each minute of their day is scheduled…

I don’t understand why my dog continues to demolish every item she comes into contact with. By the way, Mr. UPS man-for future reference it is NOT a good idea to leave packages on our porch…

I don’t understand why there are so many boys getting OT services for sensory issues (including my own). Are we just not allowing our boys to do what they naturally do? Are they all getting harder to control? Did we just discover we could help them?

I don’t understand why I am so flipping tired ALL the time…

I don’t understand why people go to IHOP and don’t order breakfast food…

I don’t understand why I do not live somewhere warmer…

I don’t understand why political debates get so mean… Don’t we all generally want the same things? And why can’t we discuss topics without discussing people, pointing fingers, or placing blame?

I don’t understand why it is so hard for my daughter to clean her room… (Actually I do, but still—just clean it already!!!)

I don’t understand how SO much laundry gets dirty in our house every week…

I don’t understand why I am not paying someone to help clean the house…

I don’t understand why it is so hard to afford the ability to be a stay-at-home mom…

I don’t understand why we don’t have a longer list of babysitters—and actually use them… To do things like go out to dinner, or go out with our friends…

I DO understand naps 🙂

And warm blankets, and Thanksgiving food, and playing four-square in the cul-de-sac with the kids, and good books, and a freshly vacuumed room, and hot chocolate, and how much I LOVE my family 🙂

Leave a Reply

