Life in the Cul-de-sac

We live in the end of a cul-de-sac.  There are around (I am embarrassed I don’t know for sure) 10 houses on our little dead-end street and I talk to the people who live in most of them on a pretty regular basis.  There are a few families who have moved in the last few years I don’t know as well, but still…  I love our neighbors.  I have always felt safe and protected on our street.  Even with my husband working 24 hour shifts we have retired neighbors who are always there if we need anything.  At one point in time I hardly ever even locked my door.  Eventually I learned to lock up the house at night, but still didn’t lock it when we went out.

Around a month and a half to two months ago I was getting ready to go to work when I opened my car door and saw everything that was once in my console was now in my seat.  I immediately knew what was missing.  My ipod touch.  I remembered leaving it in the car the night before only because I had debated bringing it in to charge and didn’t.  My change bucket was also gone, bucket and all.  Daddy-O checked his car to find all of his change gone along with some winning scratch-off tickets he hadn’t gotten around to cashing in yet.  Turns out a few other cars on our street were hit that night too.  Of course none of us had locked our cars either.  We filed a police report and I figured my ipod was lost forever.  I was very very sad…

Fast forward a few weeks and the retired couple that live right next door to me heard a noise in the middle of the night.  He went downstairs to investigate only to hear someone running from his house and leave in a speeding car.  This was 2 o’clock in the morning.  They had been in his basement and main floor.  Several antiques were missing along with his laptop and iphone.  They were working on unplugging electronics when he heard them.  Daddy-O was at work that night, it was just me and the kids at home.  Needless to say it scared the holy crap out of me.  The neighbors were not sure if they had left the basement unlocked or the garage door open.  The garage door was open when the thieves left, but he was quite sure he had closed it before he went to bed…  No one was ever caught.  Our neighbors got an alarm system.

Last week my car was broken into again.  I guess I can’t say ‘broken’ into, as I had left it unlocked—AGAIN.  I had been doing SO much better, but not good enough.  I got in the car to find my glove box open.  They didn’t make a mess this time.  Just took the ipod shuffle I had borrowed from Supergirl (since my ipod was gone) and our TomTom.  The only reason they didn’t take the GPS the first time is that it was in our house for some random reason.  This time it was gone.  I was so mad.  Mad at myself for not locking the car, mad at myself for being mad at myself—I should be mad at whoever did this.  I filed another police report and had to acknowledge yes, stuff was stolen a little over a month ago and I STILL didn’t lock my car…  After filing the police report and running some errands I came home to find a police car on our street.  Turns out one of our neighbors had also had their unlocked car ‘broken’ into.  Only thing is…. THEY had security cameras installed recently and had the guy on tape.  She actually didn’t have anything taken, just wanted to show the police department the video.  One guy, checking to make sure the car was unlocked first, then a quick in and out, move to the next house.

Tonight I got a call from the police department.  They have my ipod shuffle (not my ipod touch-but it’s a start) and my TomTom.  They have someone in custody and are going through the stuff they found.  I am so happy!  My neighbors are happy—I even got a call from our next door neighbor who is in Brooklyn who was hoping this case may be related to his house getting broken into.  I don’t know that they are related, but at least we are on the right track.  I will get some stuff back.  Someone will be held accountable.  I am thankful to our police department.  I know my unlocked car and ipod are very petty compared to the drug issues that are occurring around town lately.  But in my little neck of the woods they are a very big deal.  When I am home alone with our children, the thought of someone in my driveway at 3 in the morning with no good intentions is very scary!  We now lock the doors to both our house and cars and will continue to do so.  Gone are the days of Mayberry.  But all is not lost.  We still have amazing neighbors, a quiet street, our cars, our house and our health…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    May 31, 2012 @ 12:43:13

    Which one do you think it the BEST neighbor ever? Just curious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

