Productivity

I recently read a pretty awesome post on productivity over at nerdfitness.com.  It was all about things I have been working on lately and he had a lot of great suggestions.  I decided to focus on dominating my email.  I use gmail so was able to make the settings changes suggested.  Then I reached step 3:  Make 2 folders in your account: action and non-essential.  The goal is to have the inbox get to ZERO every time you check your mail.  That sounded incredible to me!  So I made the folders and went on to the next part.  I will quote Steve here: “To start, go back through the emails you already have in your inbox (starting at the earliest), and one by one, decide what kind of emails they are.”  

OK, I think, easy enough.  So I find the button to reverse my email list to oldest to youngest and as I am doing so I happen to catch the number of emails in my inbox.  OVER 10,000!!!!  WTF?????  Deep breath, collect my thoughts and hit the button.  I was immediately sent back to 1995.  I began to scan my emails and either delete (the very large majority) or put into a folder.  My current non-essential subfolders are as follows

  • Kids School
  • Work
  • -work contacts
  • -license/certification
  • Memories
  • Adoption

I have been pretty selective about what I am saving.  After a few sessions of scanning, organizing and deleting I am now at 6,850!!!  The even bigger news is that I have made it all the way to May, 2009!!!  I am feeling pretty good about myself 🙂

I figure I can be finished in two weeks—maybe!  The bad news is that I started work yesterday and happened to notice that my work email is sitting at around 6,000….  FML.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 13:56:07

    I am really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A few of my blog audience have complained about my site not operating correctly in
    Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any suggestions to help
    fix this problem?

    Reply

  2. findingbabyg
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 21:10:47

    Jenna, I am afraid I know absolutely nothing about anything… At least related to computer stuff. I run this blog through wordpress and it is extremely user friendly. Sorry I’m not any more help than that…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

