In the trenches

Parenting is hard work.  I laugh as I write that because really…  Duh.  Who doesn’t agree with that statement?  And yet I feel a need to say it.  It is really hard.  Sometimes it is much harder than others.  And, in all honesty, some children are much harder than others.

I do not often write about our parenting challenges here.  There are a lot of reasons for that.  And there are a lot of reasons I WANT to write about them.  We work very hard as parents.  We try every day to do the right thing and we have done a lot.  We have tried things and experienced things that I know have made us wiser and stronger.  Things I want to share with others to possibly help them in their own challenges.  I have a lot to offer.  And yet, I hold back.  Because I am not the only one involved.  Writing about the challenges I face as a parent means writing about the challenges my children face.  Sometimes that is fine.  Sometimes I am not so sure.  They have a right to privacy.  I think about myself and what it would have been like if my own mother had published details of our lives on the internet.  Would my teenage self have been mortified to read (or have others read) about my tantrums as a child?  My thought is Hell, yes.  Would my adult self want certain events out in the open for the world to read about at any given moment?  No, thank you.

And so for that, I do not share.  But I will say this.  Some days being a good parent means being the bad guy.  Some days you must stand your ground even if that means temporarily breaking a heart.  Some days that is very hard to do.  Today is one of those days.  And I am sad.  Natural consequences make sense and are important.  Consistency, routine, and follow-through are important.  I know in my head we are doing the right thing.  Yet, seeing our child cry himself to sleep sucks the life out of me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 22:41:04

    Just now reading this. You are such a good momma and I learn so much from you. Chin up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

