Good Advice

This week has been wiping me out.  We have had only about 1000 things to do after school everyday—girls on the run, dance, jiu jitsu, parent teacher conferences, more girls on the run, more dance, more parent teacher conferences.  Today I actually woke up with the thought “at least it’s Friday—you can do this.”  Then, once I was out of bed and a little more awake I realized it is only WEDNESDAY!!!  When we finally made it home tonight I collapsed on the sofa and told Boomer I was so tired I didn’t feel like I had anything left which led to the following conversation:

Boomer:  Why?

Me:  We have just had a lot to do after school this week.

Boomer:  Have you been on any runs this week?

Me:  No, by the time we get home and I get you guys in bed I just go to bed.  Plus by then it’s dark outside and I don’t like to run in the dark.

Boomer:  So, it’s probably just getting used to a different schedule and not getting enough running exercise.  Maybe we should move the treadmill and plug it in.

Me:  Maybe…  It’s just hard to be motivated when I’m so tired.

Boomer:  Let’s go ride our bicycles right now.

Me:  What?!  You’re crazy.

Boomer:  No mom.  You need to.  It will make you feel better.  Let’s go.

This was followed by him bringing me my shoes and dragging me out the door.  After we rode our bikes around the cul-de-sac a few minutes he asked, “How are you feeling now mom?  Better?”

And I was…  Sometimes the push we need comes in a small package 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 20:59:12

    I love this one. Chin up, buttercup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

