Thanksgiving

I am hosting Thanksgiving this year.  Not because I was feeling ambitious and excited and eager, but rather because my parents are coming to have Thanksgiving with us for the first time ever.  Which means there will be a total of 13 people at our house for dinner.  This number is actually small to the number I grew up with and not much larger than what we typically have at Michael’s parents house.  In fact, I typically make most of the sides and desserts even when it is at his parents house.  But having it at our house feels entirely different.  I can literally feel my muscles tensing as my anxiety builds.  Why am I like this?  I am actually super happy my parents are coming.  And even more super happy to be making dinner with my mom.  But I let those feelings get lost in bundle of useless stress.

I spent yesterday and today cleaning house with the help of Boomer.  Michael worked 8 hours Friday night, 24 hours Saturday, came home for about 30 minutes this morning before being called back in to work.  And I was instantly mad at him.  What about the grocery shopping?  We should be going now but I don’t want to leave the house with the oven cleaning.  Why did you not even ask before taking the call in?  I am doing all of this with NO help!  What if they run out of turkeys (yes that was actually something I said)?  I have been sick the last few days and STILL trying to get everything done and I am on the verge of crawling into bed and calling it quits.

Once he was gone I stopped what I was doing (cleaning the guinea pig cage) and just sat for a few minutes.  I tried hard to imagine what I wanted this Thanksgiving to be like, what would make it wonderful.  I want to be relaxed.  I want people to laugh.  I want yummy food.  I want us to be thankful.  I want to be happy.  Not just everyone else to be happy, but I actually want myself to be happy.  Happiness begets happiness.  

I decided to prioritize.  Only do the things that I feel are important.  I do feel clean bathrooms are important-done.  A clean kitchen will be important-done.  Having food will be important.  But I decided to be ok with Michael going to the store tomorrow.  Today I will sit down in the comfy recliner and get some rest while I make a grocery list.  Win-win.  

I am going to do my best to set a mental alarm.  Every time my anxiety reaches a 7 or higher I am going to simply stop and sit.  Imagine that happy Thanksgiving.  Re-prioritize and go from there.  What good is hosting if you are too grumpy to enjoy it.  And what good is Thanksgiving if you are too anxious to give thanks?

Leave a Reply

