Fear

Over the past year I have become increasingly fearful.  Of a lot of things but mostly the state of things.  But over the past two weeks I have begun to realize that many of the people I fear are also operating from a place of fear.  

Fear is a powerful emotion.  When you are neck deep and sinking you begin to grab at others to pull yourself up.  That is what is happening.  And I, too, am guilty.  When you are afraid it is easy to make assumptions, use labels, call names, all to keep from sinking.

But in the end it doesn’t work.  Everyone drowns.  

Today I am choosing to relax and float for a second.  Get some rest so I can swim stronger.  You see I have these children at home I have to protect and I need to be strong for that.  I need to make them strong.  Because people will pull them down and they must be strong enough to resist without retaliating.  That is my job.  

Today I did two absolutely amazing things.  I stopped and just stood in complete appreciation of this Earth.  This overwhelming rebirth that is spring.

Then, I did something that leaves me choked up every time I do it.  I voted.  Despite all of our differences—-despite all of our FEAR—we walked into a polling place and voted.  AND we were respectful to each other, greeted by the sweet poll workers, and we all did what we have been blessed with the opportunity to do.  We participated.

  

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. keishaoconnor62320
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 07:05:43

    I think the biggest difference is that the blogosphere is very much a meritocracy. Those blogs that have something worthwhile that people want to read will gain and keep subscribers, while those that don’t, won’t. But, what is available to you and I and everyone else is no longer limited to newspaper publishers, television producers, and all those who they pay for their opinions. Now, plenty of voices and opinions who never would have been heard can now reach an audience. Click http://link.mx/hool08200

    Reply

Leave a Reply

